The City of Blue Ridge will not be holding an election as the Mayor and one seat were unopposed.  Council will be filling the vacant seat on the Council.

May Election Dates

Your City Council

Rhonda Williams, Mayor - term May 2026

Keith Chitwood, Mayor Pro Tem - term May 2026

Colby Collinsworth, Council - term May 2025

Tammy Crosswhite, Council - term May 2025 

David Sturgeon, Council - term May 2025


City Council Candidate Eligibility

The City of Blue Ridge is a Type A General Law City with a Mayor-Council form of government.  The City Council consists of a Mayor and five Councilmembers who are elected at-large by majority vote.

  • Be a United States citizen (Texas Election Code)
  • Be at least eighteen (18) years of age (Texas Election Code)
  • Be a qualified voter of the City of Blue Ridge for at least six (6) months at the time of filing. (Texas Election Code) 
  • Be a resident of Texas and the city for at least one (1) year immediately preceding the election. (Texas Election Code)
  • Hold no other elected office or appointed public office or position of emolument, except as authorized by state law. 
  • Not have been determined by a final judgment of a court to be totally mentally incapacitated, or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote. (Texas Election Code)
  • Not have been finally convicted of a felony or if so convicted, have been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities. (Texas Election Code)
  • No candidate may file for more than one office or position number per election.
  • No employee of the City shall continue in such position after becoming a candidate for an elective office.

Filing for Blue Ridge City Council

  • Designation of Campaign Treasurer (CTA) Required
  • Application Required
  • Code of Fair Campaign Practices form (Optional)
  • All filings are made with the City Secretary and may be filed during the filing period at:
  • Note: State law requires that a candidate’s application and all of its components (including a petition or filing fee) be delivered at the same time, not separately. Therefore, if a candidate submits a filing fee along with an application, it MAY NOT be submitted via email or fax. However, if a candidate submits a petition in lieu of a filing fee along with an application, those may be submitted together via email or fax. Please be advised that an application must be notarized (or otherwise sworn to before someone authorized to administer an oath under Texas law) prior to filing via fax, email or mail. [Texas Election Code, Secs. 1.007, 143.004, 144.003].

General Information

It is the responsibility and honor of the City Secretary's Office to conduct and oversee the City Council election process for the City of Blue Ridge.  Elections in the City of Blue Ridge are conducted annually on the Uniform Election Day in May.

Voter Registration

To vote in any election, including municipal elections, residents must be registered to vote in the county where they reside.  In order to register to vote, you must be a U.S. citizen and 18 years of age.  The voter registration application must be received in the voter registrar's office or postmarked 30 days before an election for you to be eligible to vote in that election.  Collin County Elections Department facilitates the Voter Registration Information.  Please visit www.collincountytx.gov/elections/voter_registration.

Please visit www.votetexas.gov for more information.


Reporting, Contributions & Expenditures

Questions regarding reporting procedures, contributions and expenditures are to be directed to the Texas Ethics Commission at (512) 463-5800 or click on the following link: https://www.ethics.state.tx.us/resources/FAQs/FAQ_COH_Legal.php 

Election Law

Questions regarding election law are to be directed to the Texas Secretary of State at (512) 463-5650 or 1-800-252-VOTE (8683).  The May 4, 2024 Election Calendar can be found HERE.  

For additional information, please visit the following resources:

Collin County Elections Department
Texas Secretary of State - Elections Division
Texas Ethics Commission

Contact Info

Edie Sims
City Secretary
108 W James Street, Blue Ridge, TX 75424